2015

MARCH

WINTER HOURS: OPEN MONDAYS!

Open Thursday through Mondays. 11 am to 4 pm Closed Tuesday and Wednesday.  

Sunday March 1: FIRST SUNDAY OF THE MONTH, 11 am to 4 pm FREE ADMISSION


APRIL

WINTER HOURS: OPEN MONDAYS!

Open Thursday through Mondays. 11 am to 4 pm Closed Tuesday and Wednesday.  

Closed Good Friday - Friday April 3, 2015

Saturday April 4, Sunday April 5 & Monday April 6 Easter Egg-stravganza Hunt: 11 am to 4 pm

Hop to it! Colonel By has left a coded Easter wish for you throughout the permanent gallery! Explore with your friends and family to see if you find all the letters to decode his message!  Once decoded, pick up your prize at the Front Desk. Program included with admission to the Museum.

Sunday April 5: FIRST SUNDAY OF THE MONTH, 11 am to 4 pm FREE ADMISSION

Friday April 10 – January 2016:  “Hidden in Plain Sight”                                                                                
New Temporary Gallery Exhibition

Oftentimes, history is hidden in the background! This exhibition will juxtapose historic photographs from the primary artefact collection of the BYTOWN MUSEUM with modern digital interpretations of their hidden stories. Highly magnified views and fantastic historic photographs will allow visitors to explore what is going on in the background; they might be surprised at what they find!


MAY

May is MUSEUM MONTH

WINTER HOURS until Friday May 15 : OPEN MONDAYS!

Open Thursday through Mondays. 11 am to 4 pm Closed Tuesday and Wednesday.  

Sunday May 3: FIRST SUNDAY OF THE MONTH FREE ADMISSION 11 am to 4 pm

Sunday May 10: MOTHER’S DAY

We are pleased to offer free admission to Moms all day on Mother’s Day.

SUMMER HOURS Begin: Saturday May 16 – Sunday October 11, Open Daily 10:00 am to 5:00 pm, Thursdays until 8:00 pm

Saturday May 16, Sunday May 17 and Monday May 18: Celebrate the Opening of the Canal!

Kick off the Summer season with us in style!

Get into character this May long weekend and help us kick off the summer season and the opening of the Rideau Canal in style!

Chat with some of our costumed characters to while you explore Ottawa’s history in the permanent exhibition and explore our photo collection in the temporary exhibition “Hidden in Plain Sight”! Crafters young and young at heart are welcome to drop by our hat making station to create your very own crown inspired by Queen Victoria or Bicorn Hat in true Colonel John By fashion. Really get in to character and try out our Victorian inspired Selfie Station to try on costume elements! Hat Making and Selfie Station available by donation.

Finally, leave your mark with a postcard to Colonel By celebrating the opening of the Rideau Canal for navigation.

Monday May 18: International Museum Day: Free Admission

Calling all Museum-goers, join on International Museums Day and enjoy free admission to the entire Museum! The theme for 2015 is Museums for a sustainable society. Become a friend of the Museum and help support all the work we do!

Wednesday May 20: Every Wednesday is FREE ADMISSION for Seniors

Thursday May 21: Free Admission to all galleries at the BYTOWN MUSEUM on Thursday nights from 5:00 to 8:00 p.m

Wednesday May 27: Every Wednesday is FREE ADMISSION for Seniors

Thursday May 28: Free Admission to all galleries at the BYTOWN MUSEUM on Thursday nights from 5:00 to 8:00 pm
 

© 2015